I recently watched the BBC4 programme called The Madness of Peter Howson discussing the work and experience of Peter Howson. The programme in itself was immensely interesting seeing how Peter Howson struggled to bring to expression his artistic work.  One of the most striking comments in the programme came from Steven Berkoff who said the following in relation to Peter Howson and any artist:

“Having Howson in my life has in some way given me a sense of what I can, what I care for even who I am.  We need artists like we need lightening rods on the roof of houses, they take the lightening of the world and hold it and then we look at them and we feel enriched and we feel this power without being struck by the lightening, it is the artist who is struck and burnt and scarred by the lightening.”

